THT Awards

Recent THT Award Recipients

Founders Award Recipients

View the full list of Founders' Award recipients

David W. Biegler - 2015
Children's Health, Dallas

Randall Canedy - 2014
Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

Mike Reitmeier - 2013
Hillcrest Baptist Medical Center

A.L. Mangham - 2012
Nacogdoches Medical Center

James Redfield - 2012
Nacogdoches Medical Center

Ben T. “Tommy” Willcox - 2011
Chambers Health 

C.T. “Sparkey” Beckham - 2010
Baylor University Medical Center

C. Rodney Flanagan  - 2009
Ballinger Memorial Hospital

James Edward Studer - 2009
Ballinger Memorial Hospital 

Star Trustee Award Recipients

Parkland Health & Hospital System Board of Managers - 2015

Debbie D. Branson, J.D.
Parkland Health & Hospital System

L. Gerald "Jerry" Bryant, FACHE
Parkland Health & Hospital System

Paula Dobbs-Wiggins, M.D.
Parkland Health & Hospital System

Patricia Gorman
Parkland Health & Hospital System

Scherry Johnson, Ed.D.
Parkland Health & Hospital System

Winfred Parnell, M.D.
Parkland Health & Hospital System

Stephanie Woods, Ph.D., RN
Parkland Health & Hospital System

Sister Helen Brewer - 2014
Seton Heathcare Family

Drayton McLane, Jr. - 2013
Scott & White Healthcare

Rebecca Ballenger – 2012
Valley Baptist Health System

Rosemary Burns – 2011
East Texas Medical Center, Athens

Henderson Garrett – 2010
Metroplex Adventist Hospital Inc.

Peggy Allison – 2009
Methodist Healthcare System of San Antonio


Nominations for the 2017 THT Awards are now being accepted. The deadline for these award nominations is May 1, 2017. Nominate a colleague today. Contact Noelle Parsons at with any questions regarding this process.

Founders’ Award

The Texas Healthcare Trustees Founders’ Award is the highest honor bestowed to a trustee. The Founders’ Award is presented to a distinguished health care trustee with an exemplary record of leadership, dedication and excellence in health care governance and their community.

Previous winners of the award have exhibited outstanding service to their hospitals. The Founders’ Award was established in 1972 when it was presented to the five founders of Texas Healthcare Trustees who contributed significantly to the leadership and growth of the association. The Founders’ Award remains a symbol of dedication and excellence in leadership and health care governance.

Nominate a Colleague

2016 Founders' Award Recipient, Jeff Council:

THT Advocate of the Year Award

The Texas Healthcare Trustees Advocate of the Year Award (previously Star Trustee Award) recognizes an outstanding trustee, committee, or board that exhibits leadership in the legislative and regulatory arenas for the betterment of their hospital and the patients and communities they serve. Some examples include outstanding service to the Texas Hospital Association advocacy team; public service; advocating locally for their hospital’s initiatives; engagement in state and/or national health care policy discussions; and/or working with local or state health agencies or government officials to improve health care.
Originally referred to as the Star Trustee Award, this was created in 2009 to recognize and encourage engagement in advocacy on behalf of hospitals, health systems and health care-related organizations to strengthen and improve the health care community. The award was given previously by the Texas Hospital Association from 2009 to 2011 to an outstanding Texas trustee.

Nominate a Colleague

2016 Star Trustee Award Recipient, Medina County Hospital District Board of Directors:

Eligibility and Process

  1. The nominee must be a trustee from a Texas Hospital Association and Texas Healthcare Trustees member hospital or health system. The institution’s membership status must be current.
  2. Current members of the THT board of directors are not eligible.
  3. An Awards Committee, appointed by the THT chairman, will review all nominations and make the selection. The committee reserves the right to award multiple awards.
  4. All nominators will receive notification of the results.


The Founders’ Award and Star Trustee Award recipients are honored at the Trustee Awards Luncheon held on Friday during the Healthcare Governance Conference.

See a list of past winners