2018 Founders' Award

Hon. Randy M. Clapp

El Campo Memorial Hospital

Hon. Randy M. Clapp Judge Randy Clapp has a long history of service to his community which began in 1985 as board member and then chair of the West Wharton County Hospital District Board of Directors. He currently serves on the El Campo Memorial Hospital Board of Directors, a position he has held since 2011. Judge Clapp has also served on the board of the Texas Healthcare Trustees and served as board chair in 2013. His many years of service have also included recognition from the Texas Academy of Governance Trustee multiple times; he has been honored as a Distinguished Trustee by the Memorial Hermann Healthcare System; and received the Community Builder Award from the Masonic Grand Lodge of Texas. This recognition reflects not only Judge Clapp’s commitment to excellence in governance but also provides the people and communities served by El Campo Memorial Hospital confidence that he practices the most important aspects of trusteeship, which include community stewardship, leadership, dedication to effective governance, collaboration, vision, commitment and service.

THT is proud to present Judge Randy Clapp of El Campo Memorial Hospital with the 2018 THT Founders’ Award.

2018 Advocate of the Year Award

Jesse Shuffield

Hutchinson County Hospital District, Borger

Jesse ShuffieldJesse Shuffield is a dedicated advocate for the Golden Plains Community Hospital and the community of Borger, Texas. He understands that to make Borger better and to bring more families and businesses to the town, an education and health care delivery system must meet the needs of the community. To this end, he has been involved at all levels, including numerous meetings with senators and legislators to stress the need for assistance in rural health care professional recruitment, Texas Health and Human Services Commission funding proposals and streamlining processes with the Texas Medical Board. In addition to representing GPCH at THT and with TORCH, he has provided decades of services to Excel Energy, the City of Borger (city council and planning/zoning board), vice chair of the Hutchinson County Hospital District, past-president of the Chamber of Commerce, and a member of United Way and the Lion’s Club. Additionally, he serves on the Hutchinson County EMS Board of Directors and the Jerry C. Waggoner Medical Foundation at GPCH. His leadership was instrumental in securing United Way funds for the GPCH emergency dental fund and medical health scholarship program. He advocates continually for the hospital and the greater good of the community, and is a trustee with high morale fortitude and drive to improve his community.

THT is proud to present Jesse Shuffield of Hutchinson County Hospital District with the 2018 THT Advocate of the Year Award.

     See a list of past award recipients